The onlineauction.com Rummage Sale is over!!

The onlineauction.com Rummage Sale is over and what a huge success it was!!! With an approximate sell-thru rate between 27 and 30%, the sellers on onlineauction.com are certainly not complaining. Many sellers saw new buyers making purchases, which is absolutely wonderful!!! And many sellers, including myself, saw a lot more traffic in their listings and houses and sold many items that were not listed in the Sale. Some of these buyers have become regular customers for some of us, and for that, we thank them sincerely!!

The sellers on onlineauction.com owe a debt of gratitude first to each other for making this such a success. Without the listing of great items and the tireless efforts to promote this Sale by the sellers, it could not have been the success it was! Then there are the buyers! Thanks to each and every one of you who came to our wonderful site to check out the Rummage Sale. We sincerely hope you enjoyed your visits and come back soon. We could not have done this without you!!

A most special and sincere Thank You goes out to Mr. Chris Fain, CEO and founder of onlineauction.com. The donation of the two Dell Inspiron Laptop computers was WAY above and beyond the call of duty!!! We thank you for supplying those and especially for donating the proceeds to St. Judes Hospitals for Children. The computers raised almost $1,100.00 for a very, very worthy cause. So Thanks Again, Mr. Fain!!

Another most sincere and heartfelt Thank You goes out to the crew of basicstobusiness.com. Dave and Sparky not only helped promote the Sale in the way that only they can, they also had me on a few times to promote this Sale and to give results. Not only did I thoroughly enjoy myself, but it was a great way to promote onlineauction.com. So Thank You guys!!!

I must personally thank Scott Pooler, of so many businesses I can’t name them all!! I had never blogged before his suggestion to do so. I then needed him to hold my hand to get this going!! He did so willingly and happily!! He also helped to promote the Sale while on the radio with Dave and Sparky!! He continues to help me when I need it. And I so appreciate it. Thank you Scott!!

And last, but certainly not least, Thank You to the onlineauction.com staff. In particular, I would like to thank Renee!! She was there at every single turn to help us with anything we needed to make this Sale happen!! Renee, honey, we could not have done it without you!!!

So what’s in store now?  Well, nothing, at least temporarily as far as Special Sales go. Onlineauction.com is going to be going through an overhaul!! There are many changes in store for the site, and any new sales will most likely be after these changes take place. I don’t have all the details, therefore, I cannot elaborate too much. But I do know there is going to be a whole new look, new tiered categories for easier listing and searching and the Penny Over style auction will actually be going to a Fixed Price format. Those are the changes that I am aware and sure of.  These changes are likely to start taking place late June/early July, so another Sale on the scale of the Rummage Sale would not be wise to attempt. However, we WILL be back with more sales as soon as possible that you will just not be able to resist.

Don’t let the lack of “Special” sales keep you from coming by and checking out onlineauction.com. Many of the sellers, myself included, continue to list items for 99 cents and continue to have their own “specials”. Check out the Sellers Specials category and sellers’ individual houses and listings to see what else we all have in store for you!!

What’s next for the blog you ask? I am hoping to get quotes from onlineauction.com members in regards to why they came to OLA and what keeps them there. I think that will give others some insight into what this auction site is all about. Please come back soon to see what my fellow sellers and buyers are saying!!

6 responses to “The onlineauction.com Rummage Sale is over!!

  1. kittens Treasure Chest

    I am a buyer and seller at onlineauction.com and I participated in the Rummage Sale. It was a blast! I have already had repeat buyers as a result of the sale, and also found new favorite sellers myself. I can’t wait until our new site is in place and we can have our next big sales event. Onlineauction.com and the wonderful OLA community has put the fun back into selling and buying!

  2. jewelzodonnell

    What a great idea Momo!! I will keep an eye out here for the updates on OLA and what the buyers and sellers are saying!

    I also had a great time with the Rummage Sale! I bought quite a few things, and even sold 4 woo hoo!

    http://www.jewelzodonnell.wordpress.com
    http://www.onlineauction.com/store/jewelzodonnell

  3. Hey Karen,

    Thanks for the nice comments!

    NOW – Keep Blogging!

    Just cause the Rummage Sale is over, no need to stop blogging… A post a day brings traffic your way!

    Scott Pooler
    iBusinessLogic.com

  4. Nice blog, Karen!

    And follow Scott’s advice… I know I need to. (my own blog is http://actiaslunaephemera.blogspot.com and I need to update it more frequently.

    I’m so glad that the OLA rummage sale went well and one of the reasons I chose OLA for a “test” alternative is because of the number of listings they have in the categories for my niche merchandise, vintage industrial ephemera and new old stock hardware. The customer service at OLA is great, and I’m hoping to generate sales there by listing more over this holiday weekend (Memorial Day) and by submitting to GoogleBase, and by generating an e-mail to all my customers. Traffic generation is probably the one thing the ‘bay was good at, and now that we are on new, growing alternatives, marketing our own listings to generate traffic is key.

    Karen, you seem to have that marketing down pat! Best to you on OLA and everywhere else you sell… the online sales world is better with your presence!

    Kathleen – (aka “Rosie Riveter” on our mutual group at http://concerneduser.proboards105.com)

  5. Nice blog, Karen!

    And follow Scott’s advice… I know I need to. (my own blog is actiaslunaephemera on blogspot and I need to update it more frequently.)

    I’m so glad that the OLA rummage sale went well and one of the reasons I chose OLA for a “test” alternative is because of the number of listings they have in the categories for my niche merchandise, vintage industrial ephemera and new old stock hardware. The customer service at OLA is great, and I’m hoping to generate sales there by listing more over this holiday weekend (Memorial Day) and by submitting to GoogleBase, and by generating an e-mail to all my customers. Traffic generation is probably the one thing the ‘bay was good at, and now that we are on new, growing alternatives, marketing our own listings to generate traffic is key.

    Karen, you seem to have that marketing down pat! Best to you on OLA and everywhere else you sell… the online sales world is better with your presence!

    Kathleen – (moonlunasea on OLA, and “Rosie Riveter” on our mutual group concerneduser on proboards)

  6. Sukkoth says : I absolutely agree with this !

Leave a Reply

